digitizing memories

1993 for hoarding memory

A couple of months ago, I thought it would be smart to buy a very cheap printer/scanner to be able to print out a few pictures here and there for S. who is having an increasing number of school projects. The machine is total crap, but it is allowing me at least start on one project I’ve put off for many years.

I began journalling at the age of 10 with very insightful entries like “Dear Diary, Today I went to school.” I still have that journal. In the back of my mind, I always thought one day it might help my child to have my journals so they could know whatever they are going through is not so unknown. That was pretty presumptive on my part. S. would probably read my journals and say, “OMG TMI!”

In any case, I moved all of these notebooks here to Australia and I’ve decided that I might be able to digitize them. I’m glancing at pages here and there and sort of cracking up at my 1993 version of myself: very religious, very dramatic, very in love with my first serious boyfriend at university. I should dump the journals completely, but for some reason I can’t let go. Those notebooks were sometimes a lifeline to me. Writing has always helped me untangle very complicated and painful knots and has offered solace when there was none from the humans in my life. Sometimes I think I should publish them as a journey, but no one would want to read the thousands of pages of crap about my daily life – not even me, really. So here the pages go, into the computer, one by one, to maybe never come out again. At least another shelf will be clear.

2 responses to “digitizing memories

  1. Hey I really love this concept! The Colorado fantasy is one I share very strongly as well. Have you made any progress on the digitization? I am trying to solve this problem for myself, and drafting a business model that might allow others to share in this same benefit. I’d hate to lose all these nostalgic memories, there IS something keeping us from simply throwing these old notebooks away. There is truly a piece of us inside there, and I am trying desperately to find the language to describe it!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Would you be surprised that I have not made any progress since I wrote this blog post? I think a document feeder would help, but also it takes time and I feel ambivalent about keeping.

    I read something today I’ve heard elsewhere in many forms: “There is simply too much injustice in the world. And too much remembering (of ancient grievances: Serbs, Irish) embitters. To make peace is to forget. To reconcile, it is necessary that memory be faulty and limited.” (Susan Sontag, Regarding the Pain of Others, p. 90)

Leave a Reply

