new tricks, old dog

ImageOnce upon a time I believed myself to be good and quick at answering email. I had a certain reputation to uphold. It attracted my husband to me in the first days after we met. Then one day when I moved to Australia, I could no longer be bothered to answer emails quickly. The wonderful “no worries” attitude made me way too chill about my email. At some point in the last twelve months, I learned a new trick.

Step 1. Read a message on your cell phone.

Step 2. Decide if it’s important.

Step 3. If yes, mark as unread.

Step 4. Remember later when you’re on the computer to address the message properly.

It’s a wonderful organizational trick. Except, I’m not an idiot. I know I’ve already read those unread messages, so I don’t go back and look at them and they get lost in my inbox. 

Simply another horrible behavior brought to you by a hoarding compulsion. See you later when I’ve cleaned out my inbox.

 

One response to “new tricks, old dog

  1. This post made me giggle – ah, we of the ever tricking-oneself-mind. I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

