absence and home

 

Last week the last three boxes of my books arrived to my new office. I felt immediate joy and reconnection: “at-homeness” with the contents. I lovingly placed the carefully chosen texts onto my barren shelves. They barely made a dent in the void, as I am surrounded by 32 of these beautiful new bookshelves.

Boxes emptied and books put away, melancholy almost immediately ensued. I’m surrounded by space now, here and at home. It feels scary and open but full of possibility and imagination.

The biggest void and absence of home will be over tomorrow morning, though, when D. finally arrives.

2 responses to “absence and home

  1. 32 bookshelves?! Australia sounds a little bit nicer than your old university… 😉

  2. not to mention i do not share my office with anyone… and there’s even a view! feels empty at the moment, though.

Leave a Reply

