passing it on

One of my biggest issues in getting rid of our things is that I cannot easily trash what most people would plainly see as garbage. I always think someone else might be able to use it.

Yesterday I had the brilliant idea to pawn crap off on my mother who lives thousands of miles away. I asked her if she wanted my 1000+ pieces of Degas puzzle. “Sure. That would be fun!”

Me: “What about my sewing machine?”

Mom: “It would get lots of use here.”

She always finishes my crafting projects for me. She follows through on the quilting, crocheting and cross-stitching that I can never complete. And now she’ll take on my junk. What a saint. Or maybe she’s a hoarder, too, I started wondering when she said maybe she should drive up here to get the stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

