addicted to clutter

Oprah’s apparently going to tackle the topic of people addicted to clutter on her OWN cable channel in the coming days. Clutter addiction – yes, that is what I have. Our house does not look like a typical home of a hoarder, but the clutter on my desk and shelves is undeniable and a needed fixture in my workspace.

I do not make New Year’s resolutions but this year I do want to learn to let it go. Just let it go. Just breathe out, relax, and quit clinging to the piles around me, both literal and figurative. Letting go of that organized mess will inevitably happen when we leave our house, but I know it will quickly pop again wherever I live and work, regardless of country and contents of that pile. I’m so afraid of putting everything away, out of sight, out of mind. I need it there in front of me to remind me of what I’m working on and through. Can I learn to remember without keeping it in front of me? Or should I just embrace that pile and let go of the rest?

 

Leave a Reply

