lovely hoarders

I met Merl on time and had no trouble recognizing him at the designated meeting spot. He walked up to the car while I was getting out and said, “See,” pointing to his face, “you wouldn’t want to meet me in the dark!” He looked a little like I imagined (a little like one of these Ernest Hemingway lookalikes), but was missing a few top teeth. All in all, a very pleasant man who reminded me a little of my dad.

We had a good chuckle, traded palm pilot for cash, and were both on our way. His van wasn’t nearly as scary as I imagined it, and I could see through the tinted glass in the back that it was full of neatly arranged collected items like picture frames.

I don’t know where all this stuff is going, but it feels good to get something in exchange for what’s been sitting around on shelves and in drawers for all these years.

One response to “lovely hoarders

  1. Pingback: satisfied hoarders | hoarding memory

Leave a Reply

